Fr/En

Terrorism Prevention

The Situation: Terrorism in the Sahel

The threat posed by terrorism constitutes a serious danger for peace, stability and development in the Sahel region. To face this challenge, the Sahel countries are making considerable efforts at the national and international level in their active participation to the regional response in the fight against terrorism. 

In June 2013, the United Nations developed an integrated strategy for the Sahel, approved by the Security Council, that includes aspects related to fighting terrorism. In this strategy, UNODC is called on to reinforce security mechanisms at the national and regional levels to respond to the cross-border threats, notably through a variety of actions from technical assistance to legislative assistance to specialized training activities. UNODC formulated its response for the period from 2013-2017 through a strategic framework titled, "UNODC's Contribution to the United Nations Integrated Strategy for the Sahel" (also known as the UNODC Sahel Programme).

Therein, UNODC is mandated to provide the support needed to the countries that request assistance in their efforts to adopt and implement criminal justice measures in the fight against terrorism. UNODC supports the national efforts strengthening and developing legislative frameworks, policy and strategies against terrorism and its financing, in line with international conventions and protocol, human rights principles and norms based on the rule of law, notably through its assistance to the strengthening of legislative and political frameworks, to improve the knowledge and the skills to investigate and carry out prosecutions.

Fr/En

La Prévention du terrorisme

Le Programme Sahel et la prévention du terrorisme

La menace posée par le terrorisme constitue un grave danger pour la paix, la stabilité et le développement dans la région du Sahel. Pour faire face au terrorisme, les pays du Sahel fournissent des efforts considérables au niveau national et internationale dans la participation active à la réponse régionale de lutte contre le terrorisme.

En juin 2013, l'Organisation des Nations Unies a élaboré une Stratégie Intégrée pour le Sahel, approuvée par le Conseil de sécurité, qui comprend des aspects liés à la lutte contre le terrorisme. Dans cette stratégie, l'ONUDC est appelé à renforcer les mécanismes de sécurité aux niveaux national et régional afin de répondre aux menaces transfrontalières, notamment à travers des activités d'assistance technique allant de l'assistance législative aux ateliers de formation spécialisés. L'ONUDC a formulé sa réponse pour la période 2013-2017 par le biais d'un cadre stratégique intitulé « contribution de l'ONUDC à la Stratégie Intégrée des Nations Unies pour le Sahel » (également connu sous le nom de Programme Sahel de l'ONUDC).

Ainsi, l'ONUDC est mandaté pour fournir aux pays qui en font la demande l'assistance dont ils ont besoin dans leurs efforts d'adoption et de mise en œuvre des mesures de justice pénale en matière de lutte contre le terrorisme. L'ONUDC soutient les efforts nationaux de renforcement et d'élaboration des cadres législatifs, des politiques et des stratégies contre le terrorisme et son financement, conformément aux conventions et protocoles internationaux, aux principes des droits de l'homme et aux normes fondées sur l'état de droit, notamment à travers son assistance au renforcement des cadres législatifs et politiques, à l'améliorer les connaissances et les compétences pour enquêter et engager des poursuites ;