Fr/En

Terrorism Prevention

The situation in Niger regarding terrorism remains particularly worrying, as illustrated by terrorist attacks against security and defense forces since October 2017. Despite the considerable efforts initiated at the national level and the active participation of the country in a regional response to terrorism, Niger remains vulnerable to terrorist...

20 March 2018 - Mali is facing a unique combination of threats associated with various kinds of illicit trafficking and terrorism. Disrupting the flow of funding to terrorist groups through targeted financial sanctions is one way to reduce threats in the country, which will also benefit the region.

The fight against terrorism has become a shared imperative for all G5 Sahel heads of state, to strengthen the security of their states and promote peace and development in the Sahel, but also to ensure the security of their populations. Addressing terrorist threats in the Sahel requires a coordinated response, in line with international standards...

As part of its continued support to West and Central African States, UNODC met with Mauritanian criminal justice agencies in order to strengthen their responses to terrorism. Under the leadership of the Ministry of Justice, UNODC officials supported Mauritanian officials to identify their goals, priorities and ways to reach them. As part of this...

Niger is facing recurrent attacks in the South-East and West. The latest attacks are the deadly ambush in Tongo Tongo, South-West Niger, where Nigerien and American soldiers were killed on 5 October 2017 and the attack of a gendarmerie camp in Ayorou, Tillaberi region, 180 km North of Niamey, during which at least 13 gendarmes were killed two weeks...

The numerous security and development challenges faced by states in the region are the reason why the Sahel is a major international security concern. Sahelian States are particularly exposed to the jihadist threat, due to the combined action of several terrorist groups and organized crime networks.

Women and men can be vulnerable to transnational crime and terrorism in different ways. The measures governments adopt against crime, terrorism and violent extremism equally have a different impact on men and women. According to UN Women, "the great changes we are undergoing must primarily be understood in the context of the needs and concerns of...

Faced with the continuous rise of terrorism in the Sahel, UNODC provides judiciary assistance to the region's States in order to help them better prevent, investigate and prosecute acts of terrorism. In this context, UNODC has organized a regional workshop on the role of supreme courts in the fight against terrorism.

Terrorist threats in the Sahel region have escalated since 2012, following the worsening of the security situation in Libya and Northern Mali. The presence of terrorist groups such as Al-Qaida is one of the major sources of insecurity for the region. Despite the absence of recent terrorist attacks on its soil, and partly because of Mauritania's...

Violent extremism is a growing global challenge, especially in the Sahel and the Horn of Africa. Weak governmental presence and low levels of security facilitate its spread, allowing groups to exert violence to achieve ideological, religious or political goals. Equipping governments in the region to counter the financing of such destabilizing...

Strengthening the cooperation between law enforcement agencies within the Sahel and promoting dialogue and best practices exchange is one of the means through which UNODC assist Sahel countries fight violent extremism and organized crime. As part of the Sahel Programme, UNODC's regional office for West and Central Africa organized a three-day...

In the fight against terrorism and other forms of violent extremism, criminal justice agents are key actors. The ability of a country's criminal justice system to investigate, prosecute and adjudicate acts of terrorism is one of the strongest tools that can allow it to prevent, deter and counter future acts of terrorism.

The use of children by violent extremist groups, including terrorist organizations, is a growing concern. Often used as carriers, spies or cooks, these children are often led to commit crimes, take part in violent actions or even conduct acts of terrorism. Among the children used by violent extremist groups, many are victims of sexual violence and...

Strengthening criminal justice systems is a key aspect of comprehensive counter terrorism and counter violent extremism strategies. To fully prevent, deter, investigate and prosecute terrorism and other acts of violent extremism, national authorities must have the adequate legal framework and the proper training to face the complex challenges posed...

The cooperation of victims and witnesses is crucial to achieving successful prosecutions of criminal offenders and dismantling organized crimine groups. Yet, one of the challenges faced by many criminal justice systems in the investigation and prosecution of crime is obtaining such cooperation. This is mainly due to the fact that victims and...

Fr/En

Prévention du terrorisme

Du 26 février au 02 mars, l'ONUDC a organisé, en étroite collaboration avec le Haut-commissariat des Nations Unies aux droits de l'homme, un atelier sous régional de formation des formateurs sur la protection des droits de l'homme dans les réponses de justice pénale au terrorisme. L'atelier qui s'est tenu à Dakar, Sénégal, a rassemblé 24...

La situation au Burkina Faso est devenue particulièrement préoccupante, comme en témoignent les derniers attentats de mars 2018 contre l'Etat-major des armées et l'Ambassade de France en plein centre-ville de la capitale, Ouagadougou. Pour faire face à ce phénomène et apporter en plus des mesures sécuritaires, une réponse judiciaire pénale, le pays...

20 mars 2018 - Le Mali fait face à une unique combinaison de menaces associées à différentes formes de trafics et de terrorismes. Lutter contre le flux de financements des groupes terroristes grâce à des sanctions financières ciblées permettrait ainsi de réduire les menaces dans le pays, ce qui bénéficiera également à l'ensemble de la région.

La lutte contre le terrorisme est devenue un impératif partagé de l'ensemble des chefs d'Etats du G5 Sahel, pour renforcer la sécurité de leurs Etats et promouvoir la paix et le développement dans le Sahel, mais aussi pour assurer la sécurité de leurs populations. Les menaces terroristes dans le Sahel appellent à une réponse coordonnée, conforme...

Le Burkina Faso subit depuis 2015 des attaques récurrentes contre ses militaires et forces de l'ordre mais aussi contre des civils notamment dans la capitale, Ouagadougou. Plusieurs groupes terroristes comme Al Qaeda au Maghreb Islamique (AQMI) opèrent dans le pays surtout dans le Nord-Est aux frontières avec le Mali et le Niger. De plus, cette...

Dans le cadre de son soutien continu aux États de la région, l'ONUDC a rencontré les services de justice criminelle de la Mauritanie afin de soutenir le renforcement de leurs réponses au terrorisme. Sous la direction du Ministère de la Justice, des représentants de l'ONUDC ont fourni un appui afin de soutenir l'identification des objectifs, des...

Le Niger subit des attaques terroristes récurrentes sur son territoire, notamment au Sud-Est et à l'Ouest. Les plus récentes sont l'embuscade meurtrière à Tongo Tongo, au Sud-Ouest du Niger, où des soldats nigériens et américains ont été tuées, le 5 octobre 2017 et l'attaque contre un camp de gendarmerie à Ayorou, dans la région de Tillabéri, à 180...

Les multiples défis en matière de sécurité et de développement auxquels sont confrontés les Etats de la région placent le Sahel au cœur des préoccupations internationales. Les Etats sahéliens font notamment face au fléau de la menace djihadiste, auquel ils sont particulièrement exposés, y compris en raison de la conjugaison de l'action de plusieurs...

La menace représentée par la criminalité transnationale organisée, le terrorisme, le trafic de drogue et d'autres crimes graves paraît souvent insurmontable. Les réseaux illicites sont puissants et souples, et grâce à leur faculté d'adaptation et leur évolution, ils semblent toujours avoir une longueur d'avance sur les organismes d'application de...

Face à la montée de la menace terroriste au Sahel, l'ONUDC apporte une assistance judiciaire aux Etats afin de mieux prévenir, enquêter et juger les actes terroristes. Dans ce cadre, l'ONUDC a organisé une rencontre régionale sur le rôle des cours suprêmes dans la lutte contre le terrorisme.

La menace terroriste dans la région du Sahel a connu une importante recrudescence depuis 2012, suite à la détérioration de la situation sécuritaire en Libye et au nord-Mali. La présence de groupes liés à Al-Qaida est une des sources majeures d'insécurité dans région. En dépit de l'absence d'attaques terroristes récentes sur son sol, la Mauritanie...

Dans la lutte contre le terrorisme et d'autres formes d'extrémisme violent, les agents de la justice pénale sont des acteurs clefs. La capacité du système judiciaire d'enquêter, de poursuivre et de juger des actes de terrorisme représente, pour un pays, un de ses outils les plus forts pour prévenir, dissuader et combattre de futurs actes...

L'utilisation des enfants par les groupes extrémistes violents, y compris des groupes terroristes, est un phénomène de plus en plus préoccupant. Utilises comme porteurs, espions ou cuisiniers, ces enfants sont souvent amenés à commettre des crimes, à participer à des actions violentes ou même à commettre des actes terroristes. Enfin, il n'est pas...

Le renforcement des systèmes de justice pénale est l'une des stratégies clé pour lutter contre l'extrémisme violent et le terrorisme. Pour prévenir, dissuader, enquêter et poursuivre les actes terroristes et d'autres actes d'extrémisme violent, les autorités nationales doivent avoir un cadre légal adéquat et une formation adaptée pour faire face...

La coopération des victimes et des témoins est essentielle dans la poursuite des délinquants et le démantèlement des groupes criminels organisés. Pourtant, l'un des défis rencontrés par de nombreux systèmes de justice pénale dans les enquêtes et les poursuites est l'obtention d'une telle coopération. Ceci est principalement dû au fait que les...