Fr/En

Regional Cooperation

From 25 to 27 September 2018, UNODC's Terrorism Prevention Team organized in Dakar the eighth annual meeting of the Sahel Judicial Cooperation Platform (the Sahel Platform) focal points to identify challenges and exchange best practices on current cooperation cases. The annual meeting was attended by 20 participants, including the Sahel Platform...

UNODC and the G5 Sahel agreed, during a joint meeting organized in Nouakchott on 18 July 2018, to strengthen their cooperation in the areas of security and justice including through continued UNODC support towards the empowerment of the PCMS and towards operationalizing the police component of the G5 Sahel Joint Force. Possible future assistance...

To better anticipate and respond to cross-brder threats in the Sahel sub-region, such as illicit trafficking and terrorism, G5 Sahel States (Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania and Niger) decided to create a "Security Cooperation Platform" (SCP, in French "Plateforme de cooperation en matière de sécurité") to increase information exchange between...

Smuggling of migrants is a form of transnational organized crime severely affecting the Sahel and North Africa. Mali, Morocco and Niger are particularly concerned by this phenomenon. In recent years, smuggling of migrants networks have developed and have become more complex, targeting vulnerable populations and using extreme forms of violence and...

Terrorism and transnational organized crime are on the rise in the Sahel, making these challenges among the priorities that moved the Heads of State of Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania and Niger to create the G5 Sahel in 2014. In support of this mission to improve security in the Sahel, the G5 Sahel countries established a military force in...

The security situation in the Sahel deteriorated in recent years. To better respond to the security challenges in the Sahel, the Office of the United Nations for Drugs and Crime (UNODC) organizes a meeting each year which brings together both, beneficiary and observer countries of its Sahel Programme to discuss and refocus the strategy of the...

The deterioration of the security situation in the Sahel has enabled transnational organized crime groups and armed groups to grow, and to establish large networks of illicit trafficking in drugs, firearms and even human beings expanding to North Africa. These traffics represent an important source of revenue for terrorist organizations and...

Peace and security in the Sahel region is becoming increasingly challenging. In recent years, terrorism and transnational organized crimes are on the rise, making these issues among the priorities expressed in the convention on the establishment of the G5 Sahel, signed by the Heads of State of Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania and Niger in 2014....

The resurgence of terrorist attacks in the Sahel reflects the intensification of this threat in the region. The exchange of information between the G5 Sahel countries is therefore essential to combat this scourge and support the implementation of new national and regional security measures.

Faced with the continuous rise of terrorism in the Sahel, UNODC provides judiciary assistance to the region's States in order to help them better prevent, investigate and prosecute acts of terrorism. In this context, UNODC has organized a regional workshop on the role of supreme courts in the fight against terrorism.

Terrorism and transnational organized crime in the Sahel have seen a preoccupying evolution in recent years, and especially since 2012, when the United Nations Integrated Strategy for the Sahel was launched by the Security Council (UNSC). The evolving nature of the threats affecting the region requires flexible responses by governments. To afford...

Fr/En

Coopération régionale

Du 25 au 27 septembre 2018, l'équipe de la prévention de terrorisme de l'ONUDC a organisé à Dakar, Sénégal, la 8 ème réunion annuelle des points focaux nationaux de la Plateforme de coopération judiciaire pénale des pays du Sahel (dite Plateforme Sahel) afin d'échanger sur des cas concrets de coopération internationale facilités par la Plateforme...

L'ONUDC et le G5 Sahel ont décidé, lors d'une réunion conjointe à Nouakchott le 18 juillet 2018, d'approfondir leur coopération dans les domaines de la sécurité et de la justice : entre autres, la poursuite de l'appui de l'ONUDC à l'autonomisation de la PCMS et à l'opérationnalisation de la Composante police de la Force conjointe du G5 Sahel....

Le terrorisme et la criminalité transnationale organisée sont en hausse au Sahel, et font partie des priorités ayant conduit les chefs d'État du Burkina Faso, du Mali, de la Mauritanie, du Niger et du Tchad à créer le G5 Sahel en 2014. Pour soutenir cette mission d'améliorer la sécurité dans le Sahel, les pays du G5 Sahel ont mis en...

La situation sécuritaire au Sahel n'a cessé d'évoluer au cours des dernières années. Afin de répondre au mieux aux évolutions et aux menaces auxquelles font face les pays du Sahel, l'Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime (ONUDC) organise, chaque année, une réunion regroupant les pays bénéficiaires et observateurs de son Programme...

La situation au Burkina Faso est devenue particulièrement préoccupante, comme en témoignent les derniers attentats de mars 2018 contre l'Etat-major des armées et l'Ambassade de France en plein centre-ville de la capitale, Ouagadougou. Pour faire face à ce phénomène et apporter en plus des mesures sécuritaires, une réponse judiciaire pénale, le pays...

La détérioration de la situation sécuritaire au Sahel a permis à des groupes criminels transnationaux organisés et à des groupes armés de se développer et d'établir des vastes réseaux de trafic illicite de drogues, d'armes à feu et même d'êtres humains qui s'étendent jusqu'en Afrique du Nord. Ces trafics représentent une source importante de revenu...

La recrudescence d'attaques terroristes dans la région du Sahel témoigne de l'intensification de cette menace dans la région. L'échange d'information entre les pays du G5 Sahel est donc indispensable pour combattre ce fléau et accompagner la mise en place de nouvelles mesures sécuritaires nationales et régionales.

Dans le cadre de son programme d'appui à l'opérationnalisation de la Plateforme de Coopération en matière de Sécurité du G5 Sahel (PCMS), et en collaboration avec l'Union européenne et INTERPOL, l'ONUDC a dispensé deux sessions de tutorat auprès du personnel des plateformes nationales du Niger (23 au 25 mai 2017) et du Burkina Faso (13 au 15...

Face à la montée de la menace terroriste au Sahel, l'ONUDC apporte une assistance judiciaire aux Etats afin de mieux prévenir, enquêter et juger les actes terroristes. Dans ce cadre, l'ONUDC a organisé une rencontre régionale sur le rôle des cours suprêmes dans la lutte contre le terrorisme.

Le terrorisme et la criminalité transnationale organisée au Sahel ont connu une évolution préoccupante ces dernières années, et ce surtout depuis 2012, date à laquelle la Stratégie intégrée des Nations Unies pour le Sahel a été lancée par le Conseil de sécurité (CSNU). La constante évolution des menaces qui affectent la région nécessite des...