Fr/En

Mauritania

31 activities implemented, 553 beneficiaries reached 

About Mauritania

Population (2017): 4,420,184

Population growth (annual %): 2.7

GDP (2017): 5,024,708,660

GDP growth (annual %): 3.5

Life expectancy at birth: 63

Fertility rate, total (births per woman): 4.7

(World Bank Data 2017)

Mauritania and the Sahel Programme

Since its inception, the Sahel Programme and its partners have implemented 31 activities in Mauritania reaching over 553 beneficiaries, 6.87 of which were women.

Through its partnership with UNODC's Sahel Programme, Mauritania has achieved notable results including: 

  • Following a search of a private residence in Nouakchott in November 2018, Mauritanian police officers of the counternarcotic office seized 100kg of cannabis and 2200 tablets of illicitly trafficked medication (Rivotril). The specialized police unit discovered a secret room with a hidden access point under the kitchen sink, thanks to intelligence analysis resulting in five people being brought to justice. This seizure was a result of a UNODC training workshop on drug identification and detection that took place in September 2018 in Nouakchott. Officers from this specialized unit, as well as officers from forensics, the gendarmerie and the security cooperation platform (Plateforme de Coopération en Matière de Sécurité - PCMS) strengthened their capacities on the identification of precursors, clandestine laboratories and means of dissimulation. They also revised methodology of inspection and search, management of informants and interrogation techniques. Officers of the counternarcotic unit applied knowledge acquired during at least five modules of this workshop to conduct this successful search and drug seizure. Read More


Key activities implemented in Mauritania through the Sahel Programme include:

  • In the context of a partnership with the US State Department's Counter-Terrorism bureau, UNODC has initiated a project aiming to formulate an Action Plan for Mauritania, in order to identify the country's objectives and priorities in the fight against terrorism from a criminal justice standpoint. Thus, UNODC, in close collaboration with the Mauritanian Ministry of Justice and thanks to the financial support of the United States, organized a training workshop in Nouakchott from 8 to 10 May 2018, on how to build and consolidate terrorism-related cases for 20 criminal justice professionals including prosecutors, lawyers and investigative judges. This workshop was followed by a reflection on how to simplify and streamline Mauritanian international cooperation channels. Read More


  • UNODC provided training to 29 national law enforcement and judicial officers on the investigation and prosecution of firearms offences from 7 to 11 November 2016 in Nouakchott, Mauritania. This activity, planned in close collaboration with the Mauritanian Ministry of Interior, trained magistrates, prosecutors, judicial police officers, parliamentarians and representatives of NGOs operating in the region, on efficient investigation and prosecution techniques of firearms-related criminal matters and other related offences. The five-day event strengthened the capacities of participants regarding the identification and classification of arms, measures to prevent trafficking in firearms, crime scene management, investigation techniques and firearms tracing. Read More

Fr/En

La Mauritanie

31 activités mises en œuvre, 553 bénéficiaires

Informations sur la Mauritanie

Population (2017): 4.420.184

Croissance de la population (% annuel): 2.7

PIB (2017): 5.024.708.660

Croissance du PIB (% annuel) : 3.5

Espérance de vie à la naissance : 63

Taux de natalité, total (naissance par femme): 4.7

(Données de la Banque Mondiale)

Mauritania and the Sahel Programme

Depuis sa création, le Programme Sahel et ses partenaires ont mis en œuvre 31 activités au Burkina avec plus de 553 bénéficiaires dont 6,87% de femmes.

A travers son partenariat avec le Programme Sahel de l'ONUDC, le Burkina Faso a accompli des résultats probants :

  • Au cours d'une perquisition dans une résidence privée à Nouakchott en novembre 2018, les officiers de police mauritaniens de l'Office National de Lutte contre les Stupéfiants ont saisi 100kg de cannabis et 2200 comprimés de médicaments trafiqués (Rivotril). L'unité spécialisée de la police a découvert, grâce à l'analyse de renseignement, une pièce secrète avec un point d'accès sous le lavabo et cinq personnes ont été confiées à la justice. Cette saisie est le résultat d'un atelier mis en œuvre par l'ONUDC sur l'identification et la détection des drogues, qui s'est déroulé à Nouakchott en 2018. les éléments issus de l'unité spécialisée, de la police scientifique, de la gendarmerie et de la Plateforme de Coopération en Matière de Sécurité (PCMS) ont pu renforcer leurs capacités sur l'identification des précurseurs et des laboratoires clandestins et sur les méthodes de dissimulation. et atelier a été l'occasion pour eux de revoir la méthodologie de saisie et de perquisition, ainsi que la gestion des informateurs et les techniques d'interrogatoire. Les officiers de police de l'Office National de Lutte contre les stupéfiants ont utilisé les connaissances acquises au cours de cette formation afin de mener cette perquisition avec succès et de saisir la drogue. En savoir plus


Les principales activités mises en œuvre au Niger par le biais du Programme pour le Sahel comprennent :

  • Dans le cadre d'un partenariat avec le Bureau du contre-terrorisme du Département d’état des États-Unis d'Amérique, l'ONUDC a mis en place un projet d'élaboration d'un Plan d'Action pour la Mauritanie afin d'identifier les objectifs et les priorités en matière de lutte contre le terrorisme du point de vue de la justice pénale. Ainsi, grâce à la contribution financière des États-Unis et en étroite collaboration avec le Ministère de la Justice, l'ONUDC a organisé du 8 au 10 mai à Nouakchott un atelier de formation sur le montage d'un dossier en matière de terrorisme au bénéfice de 20 acteurs de la justice pénale. Cet atelier a été suivi d'une séance de réflexion sur la simplification des circuits de coopération judiciaire pénale. En savoir plus
  • L'ONUDC a dispensé en novembre 2016 une formation à 29 agents chargés de l'application de la loi et des services judiciaires sur l'enquête et de la poursuite des infractions relatives aux armes à feu à Nouakchott en Mauritanie. Cette activité, organisée en étroite collaboration avec le Ministère de l'intérieur mauritanien, a permis de former  des magistrats, des procureurs, des officiers de police judiciaire, des parlementaires ainsi que des représentants d'ONG présentes dans la région, sur des techniques efficaces d'enquête et de poursuite d'affaires criminelles liées aux armes à feu.  L'événement a renforcé leurs capacités d'identification et de classification des armes, et leurs connaissances des mesures visant à prévenir le trafic d'armes à feu, de la gestion des scènes de crime, ainsi que des techniques d'enquête et de traçage des armes à feu.  En savoir plus