Fr/En

Legislative Support


UNODC supports national efforts in strengthening and developing legislative frameworks, policies and strategies to combat terrorism and transnational organized crime


The Sahel Programme's Legislative Assistance in the Sahel

In line with its objective to assist in reinforcing the standard legal framework of the G5 Sahel countries, the UNODC Sahel Programme aids in updating national legislation while ensuring that national legislation aligns with international legal instruments to effectively fight illicit trafficking, organized crime, terrorism, and corruption. To this end, Sahelian authorities have adopted 11 legal instruments since the beginning of the Sahel Programme, aiming to strengthen the fight against terrorism and transnational organized crime. These advancements follow UNODC's provision of judicial expertise to legislators in the region:

  • In March and November 2015, Burkina Faso adopted two anti-corruption laws. Read More 

The adoption of this law follows various regional workshops led by UNODC as well as civil servants implicated in the fight against corruption in the region. A general consensus on the subject had already been reached in December 2014 with the support and coordination of UNODC. (Read More) Niger also adopted a similar law in 2016.


  • In May 2015, the Nigerien government adopted a law legislating against the illicit trafficking of migrants. Read More

This set an important precedent in the region, with Niger becoming the first country in the region to be equipped with such legislation. Since then, UNODC through its Sahel Programme works in close collaboration with authorities from other countries to further promote the strengthening of capacities of those in charge of applying the law, across the entirety of the criminal justice chain. To this end, a training workshop on the fight against trafficking in persons and smuggling of migrants was organized in September 2015. (Read More) Niger, where encouraging results on the issue have already been observed, organized a regional conference in June 2018 on the fight against trafficking in persons and smuggling of migrants in order to share this legislative experience with other G5 Sahel countries. Read More 


This law contains provisions aiming to combat the threat posed by foreign terrorist fighters (FTFs). In line with its assistance to Burkina Faso in the fight against terrorism, UNODC assisted Burkinabe legal drafters and legislators in order to ensure the inclusion of FTFs in the December 2015 law. Read More


This platform facilitates regional cooperation between the institutions that apply the law to issues linked to terrorism and transnational organized crime. 

  • In January 2017, Burkinabe legislators adopted a new law creating and institutionalizing a specialized judicial unit to strengthen the fight against terrorism and its financing. In the framework of the Sahel Programme, UNODC provided continued assistance to Burkina Faso in order to reinforce these measures against terrorism. Read More

  • On 26 June 2018, Chad acceded to the United Nations Convention against Corruption. The number of States Parties to the agreement therein increased to 186 and includes all countries in West and Central Africa. UNODC supported Chad throughout its process of accession to the convention. Read More

Fr/En

Assistance législative

 L'ONUDC soutient les efforts nationaux visant à renforcer et à élaborer des cadres législatifs, des politiques et des stratégies de lutte contre le terrorisme et la criminalité transnationale organisée

L'Assistance législative du Programme Sahel de l'ONUDC

 

Dans sa mission d'assistance continue au renforcement du cadre normatif des pays du G5 Sahel, le Programme Sahel de l'ONUDC participe à la mise à jour des législations nationales et travaille pour assurer la cohérence entre les instruments internationaux et la législation nationale afin de combattre le trafic de drogue, les trafics illicites, la criminalité organisée, le terrorisme et la corruption. Ainsi, depuis les débuts du Programme Sahel, les autorités sahéliennes ont adopté 11 instruments légaux visant à renforcer la lutte contre le terrorisme et la criminalité transnationale organisée. Cela fait suite à la fourniture d'expertise juridique dispensée par l'ONUDC aux législateurs de la région :

  • En mars et novembre 2015, le Burkina Faso a adopté deux lois anti-corruption. (En savoir plus)

L'adoption de cette loi fait suite aux différents ateliers régionaux pilotés par l'ONUDC et les fonctionnaires de lutte contre la corruption de la région. Un consensus autour de ce projet avait déjà été établi depuis décembre 2014 sous le soutien et la coordination de l'ONUDC. (En savoir plus) Le Niger a également adopté une loi similaire en décembre 2016.

  • En mai 2015, le Gouvernement nigérien a adopté une loi pénalisant le trafic illicite de migrants. ( En savoir plus)

Cela a établi un précédent important pour la région, en tant que premier pays doté d'une telle législation. Depuis lors l'ONUDC à travers son Programme Sahel travaille en étroite collaboration avec les autorités du pays pour favoriser un renforcement des capacités des acteurs chargés de l'application de la loi, tout au long de la chaine pénale. En septembre 2015, un atelier de formation sur la lutte contre la traite des personnes et le trafic des migrants a été organisé à cet effet. (En savoir plus) Le Niger, qui présente déjà des résultats encourageants en la matière, a organisé en juin 2018 une Conférence régionale sur la lutte contre le trafic illicite de migrants et la traite des êtres humains afin de partager cette expérience législative avec les autres États du G5 Sahel. (En savoir plus)


Cette loi comporte des dispositions visant à lutter contre la menace posée par les combattants terroristes étrangers (CTE). En effet, dans le cadre de son assistance continue au Burkina Faso dans sa lutte contre le terrorisme, l'ONUDC a aidé les rédacteurs juridiques et les législateurs Burkinabè afin d'assurer l'inclusion du phénomène des CTE dans la loi de décembre 2015. (En savoir plus)


 Cette plateforme  facilite la coopération régionale entre les institutions d'application de la loi sur des problématiques liées au terrorisme et à la criminalité transnationale organisée. (En savoir plus)

  • En janvier 2017, les législateurs Burkinabé ont adopté une nouvelle loi créant et institutionnalisant un pôle judiciaire spécialisé pour renforcer la lutte contre le terrorisme et son financement. Dans le cadre de son Programme Sahel, l'ONUDC a fourni une assistance continue au Burkina Faso afin de renforcer les mesures de lutte contre le terrorisme. (En savoir plus)
  • Le 26 juin 2018, le Tchad a accédé à la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption (CNUCC). Le nombre des États parties à la Convention est ainsi passé à 186, et inclus tous les pays de l'Afrique de l'Ouest et du Centre. L'ONUDC a soutenu le Tchad tout au long du processus d'adhésion à cette Convention. (En savoir plus)