Fr/En

Integrity and Accountability

Investigative journalism can play a critical role in the fight against corruption, by exposing corrupt practices and thereby promoting accountability. Indeed, article 13 of the United Nations Convention against Corruption calls for appropriate measures to respect, promote and protect "the freedom to seek, receive, publish and disseminate...

From 19 to 21 September 2016, representatives from 12 countries in West Africa gathered in Monrovia, Liberia, to discuss whistle-blower and witness protection in the fight against corruption. This regional meeting was organised by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC), in partnership with the Liberian Anti-Corruption Commission...

The anti-money laundering and counter financing of terrorism (AML/CFT) system gives a central role to financial Intelligence units (FIUs). However, to play their effective role, these units rely on the cooperation of national reporting entities to transmit suspicious transaction reports, every time they have such a suspicion.

Corruption challenges the very legitimacy of the State. The scourge of corruption within the police force itself constitutes a serious threat to efforts to combat organized crime and illicit drug trafficking. Within the Sahel region, a study from the Afrobarometer (2013) has revealed on average 71% of respondents feel that some or most police...

Fr/En

Intégrité et transparence

Du 19 au 21 septembre 2016, des représentants de 12 pays d'Afrique de l'Ouest se sont réunis à Monrovia, au Libéria, pour discuter de la protection des lanceurs d'alerte et des témoins dans la lutte contre la corruption. Cette réunion régionale a été organisée par l'Office des Nations Unies contre la Drogue et le Crime (ONUDC), en partenariat avec...

Le système de lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent et le financement du terrorisme (CBL/FT) donne une place centrale aux Cellules nationales de traitement des informations financières (CENTIF). Cependant, afin de jouer pleinement ce rôle, les CENTIF ont besoin de la pleine coopération des assujettis, définis comme les personnes et entités obligées...

La corruption remet en cause la légitimité de l'État. La corruption au sein de la police constitue une grave menace aux efforts pour combattre la criminalité organisée et les trafics illicites. Au sein de la région du Sahel, une étude de l'Afrobaromètre (2013) révèle qu'en moyenne 71% des répondants considèrent que la plupart des policiers ou...

La promotion du journalisme d'investigation dans la région du Sahel et dans les pays limitrophes s'exprime notamment par la mise en œuvre de l'article 13 de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption (CNUCC), ratifiée par la plupart des États de la région. Celui-ci appelle chaque État Membre à prendre les mesures appropriées pour « ...