Fr/En

Integrity and Accountability

UNODC supports the efforts of the Sahel states to promote transparency and to fight corruption. This technical assistance supports the reinforcement of national legislation by aligning them with international text as well as operational support through political capacity building.

The Situation: Integrity and Accountability in the Sahel


In order to effectively fight against corruption, the approach must be governmental and societal at the same time, including different sectors and branches of government, civil society groups and the private sector. The United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC) is a powerful and important tool in the fight against corruption. The Convention promotes the prevention of corruption, the application of the law, international cooperation and asset recovery. It also favors the application of principles such as transparency and public participation in the fight against corruption. To achieve this objective of promoting integrity in this region, UNODC aims to: 

  • Reinforce legislation, politics and anti-corruption strategies in accordance with recommendations of the UNCAC raised during examination of each country;
  • Build operational capacities and investigative capacity of corruption in the public sphere;
  • Raise awareness about questions of the fight against corruption and the implication of the public
  • Promote prevention measures against corruption, like the declaration of assets by public servants, investigative journalism and university instruction on the fight against corruption;
  • Integrate anti-corruption principles in national and regional projects concerning the application of the law;
  • Reinforce the regional networks in the fight against corruption, in particular anti-corruption authorities in West Africa and across the continent; 

According to this approach, and in line with the UNCAC, UNODC develops activities in the framework if its anti-corruption programme in the Sahel countries in line with: (i) the reinforcement of anti-corruption legislative frameworks at the national level; (ii) building capacities of actors in the criminal justice chain charged with the detection and prosecution of corruption and related crimes; and (iii) the reinforcement of integrity of criminal justice actors (including the Police Component of the G5 Sahel Joint Force), resulting in their increased efficiency and stronger trust between the population and their actions.

According to this framework, and within the Sahel countries, UNODC worked more specifically in the Sahel on the following activities:

  • Assist the Sahel states to complete the self evaluation in the framework of the second cycle of the application of the UNCAC review mechanism (including preventative measures and asset recovery) 
  • Provide technical assistance in conforming the legal and institutional frameworks of the Sahel countries in the matter of corruption, on the basis of the results of the application of the UNCAC, notably the recommendations already formulated in the framework of its first cycle (concerning criminalization and international cooperation). 
  • Support national training organizations within the magistrate and detection and repression services in the development and updating of curricula concerning the fight against corruption. 
  • Support building capacities of actors in the criminal justice chain (including national authorities implicated in the fight against corruption and the economic and financial poles established within national tribunals) investigate and prosecute corruption cases. 
  • Provide technical assistance aiming to reinforce the operations and the efficiency of national anti-corruption institutions.       
  • Support and facilitate regional and international corruption between authorities implicated in the detection and prosecution of corruption cases.
  • Promote integrity within security forces and the judicial authorities, notably by the development and the establishment of anti-corruption strategies for each service. 
  • Support the implementation of anti-corruption strategies in the fight against corruption and the promotion of integrity within the police, gendarmerie and customs already developed in Burkina Faso.       
  • In cooperation with the relevant national training institutions and other sections of UNODC, develop curricula on integrity and ethics and organize training activities targeting security forces. 
  • Develop a strategy promoting integrity and transparency within the G5 Sahel Joint Force, supporting the establishment of methods of accountability for its members, as well as the establishment of an operational methodology facilitating the transparency of its procedures. 
  • Support the training of journalists and civil society to reinforce the external control and accountability of actors of the criminal justice chain. 
  • Strengthen investigation and judicial prosecution capacity of corruption infractions in Sahel countries.

Fr/En

Intégrité et Transparence

L'ONUDC soutient les efforts des États du Sahel à promouvoir la transparence et à lutter contre la corruption. Cette assistance technique s'appuie sur le renforcement des législations nationales en les conformant aux textes internationaux  et un soutien opérationnel à travers le renforcement des capacités politiques.

l'ONUDC et l'intégrité et la transparence dans le Sahel


Afin de lutter efficacement contre la corruption, une approche à la fois gouvernementale et sociétale est nécessaire, comprenant les différents secteurs et branches du gouvernement, les groupes de la société civile et le secteur privé. La Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption (CNUCC) est un outil puissant et complet dans la lutte contre la corruption. Elle promeut la prévention, l'application de la loi, la coopération internationale et le recouvrement d'avoirs. Elle favorise également l'application de principes tels que ceux de la transparence et de la participation du public dans la lutte contre la corruption. Pour atteindre l'objectif de promotion de l'intégrité dans la région, l'ONUDC vise à :

  • Renforcer la législation, les politiques et les stratégies anti-corruption en accord avec les recommandations de la CNUCC lors d'examen par pays ;
  • Renforcer les capacités opérationnelle et d'enquête des autorités anti-corruption ;
  • Sensibiliser sur les questions de la lutte contre la corruption au sein du public ;
  • Promouvoir des mesures de prévention contre la corruption, comme la déclaration de patrimoine par les agents publics, le journalisme d'investigation et l'enseignement universitaire de la lutte contre la corruption ;
  • Intégrer les principes anti-corruption dans les projets nationaux et régionaux d'application de la loi ;
  • Renforcer les réseaux régionaux de lutte contre la corruption, en particulier des autorités anti-corruption en Afrique de l'Ouest et à travers le continent.

Selon cette approche, et en conformité avec la CNUCC, l'ONUDC développe des activités dans le cadre de son programme de lutte contre la corruption dans les pays du Sahel s'inscrivant dans : (i) le renforcement du cadre législatif de la lutte contre la corruption à l'échelle nationale ; (ii) le renforcement des capacités des acteurs de la chaîne pénale en charge de la détection et de la poursuite de la corruption et des infractions assimilées ; et (iii) le renforcement de l'intégrité des acteurs de la chaîne pénale (y compris la composante Police de la Force Conjointe du G5 Sahel), résultant sur une plus grande efficacité de ces acteurs et une confiance accrue de la population en leur action.

Selon ce cadre, et au sein des pays du Sahel, l'ONUDC travaille plus particulièrement dans les pays du Sahel sur les activités suivantes :

  • Assister les États du Sahel à remplir la liste d'autoévaluation dans le cadre du deuxième cycle du mécanisme d'examen de l'application de la CNUCC (portant sur les mesures préventives et le recouvrement d'avoirs).
  • Fournir un appui technique pour la mise en conformité du cadre légal et institutionnel des pays du Sahel en matière de corruption, sur la base des résultats de l'examen de l'application de la CNUCC, notamment les recommandations déjà formulées dans le cadre de son premier cycle (portant sur la criminalisation et la coopération internationale).
  • Soutenir les organismes nationaux de formation au sein de la magistrature et des services de détection et répression dans le développement et la mise à jour de curricula portant sur la lutte contre la corruption.
  • Appuyer le renforcement des capacités des acteurs de la chaîne pénale (y compris les autorités nationales de lutte contre la corruption et les pôles économiques et financiers établis au sein des parquets nationaux) d'enquêter et poursuivre les cas de corruption.
  • Fournir de l'assistance technique visant à renforcer l'opérationnalité et l'efficacité des institutions nationales de lutte contre la corruption.
  • Soutenir et faciliter la coopération régionale et internationale entre les autorités impliquées dans la détection et la poursuite de cas de corruption.
  • Promouvoir l'intégrité au sein des forces de sécurité et de la magistrature, notamment par le développement et la mise en place de stratégies de lutte contre la corruption pour chaque service.
  • Soutenir la mise en œuvre de stratégies de lutte contre la corruption et de promotion de l'intégrité au sein de la police, la gendarmerie et les douanes, déjà développées au Burkina Faso.
  • En coopération avec les institutions nationales de formation pertinentes et les autres sections de l'ONUDC, développer des curricula sur l'intégrité et l'éthique et organiser des activités de formation pour les forces de sécurité.
  • Développer une stratégie de promotion de l'intégrité et de la transparence au sein de la Force Conjointe du -G5 Sahel, soutenant la mise en place de méthodes de redevabilité pour ses membres, ainsi que l'établissement d'une méthodologie opérationnelle facilitant la transparence des procédures.
  • Soutenir la formation de journalistes et de la société civile afin de renforcer le contrôle externe et la redevabilité des acteurs de la chaîne pénale.
  • Renforcement des capacités d'enquête et de poursuite judiciaire d'infractions de corruption des pays du Sahel.