Fr/En

Chad

35 activities implemented, 857 beneficiaries reached 

About Chad 

Population (2017): 14,899,994

Population growth (annual %): 3.0

GDP (2017): 9,871,247,730

GDP growth (annual %): -3.0

Life expectancy at birth: 53

Fertility rate, total (births per woman): 5.9

(World Bank Data 2017)

Chad and the Sahel Programme

Since its inception, the Sahel Programme and its partners have implemented 35 activities  in Chad reaching over 857 beneficiaries, 10,15 of which were women

Through its partnership with UNODC's Sahel Programme, Chad has achieved notable results including:

  • On 26 June 2018, Chad ratified the United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC) following the support of UNODC, who facilitates the mechanism for reviewing the implementation of the Convention and supports countries in strengthening their legislative and institutional framework in accordance with the UNCAC. Following the Chadian government's request for assistance at the Sahel Programme's second steering committee meeting in 2017, UNODC organized two workshops in partnership with the Chadian government, justice officials, and various national stakeholders. These awareness-raising actions helped create the conditions allowing for Chad's ratification of the Convention; a success thereby facilitating the development of more effective actions to fight against corruption in the country, as well as throughout the Sahel region. In January, 2019, UNODC organized a third workshop in Chad to discuss how to efficiently implement the Convention. Read More


  • In the wake of terrorist attacks in the country, Chad established an anti-terrorist coordination cell regrouping law enforcement agencies and magistrates to facilitate the sharing of tactical information through the use of a secure database. The creation of the cell followed technical assistance provided by UNODC to enhance cooperation within the criminal justice system. Subsequently, UNODC and Chadian authorities developed a three year national programme (2016-2018) to strengthen rule of law-based and human rights compliant criminal justice responses against terrorism. The Programme focuses on, among others, the investigation and prosecution of terrorism related cases in accordance with the rule of law, including especially human rights; international and regional judicial cooperation; enhanced knowledge and capacity building for addressing the legal and criminal justice challenges concerning foreign terrorist fighters (FTF) and countering violent extremism; and strengthening rule of law-based criminal justice measures to emerging terrorism- and violent extremism related challenges.


Key activities implemented in Chad through the Sahel Programme include: 


  • In April 2017, the UNODC Global Programme against Money-Laundering, the Proceeds of Crime and the Financing of Terrorism (GPML) organized a national workshop for reporting entities on combatting money laundering and the financing of terrorism (ML/FT), thanks to the logistical support of the Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) of Chad. The three-day workshop incorporated practical sessions on a number of relevant topics including introduction to money laundering and terrorism financing, basic steps of customer due diligence (CDD) measures, use of suspicious transactions form, national AML/CFT legal and institutional frameworks, search on the Consolidated United Nations Security Council Sanctions List, etc. Read More


  • In line with the United Nations Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy (UNGCTS), UNODC and the Office of the High Commission for Human Rights (OHCHR) organized a sub-regional workshop on Gender Dimensions of Criminal Justice Responses to Terrorism for countries affected by terrorism in the Lake Chad Basin. The workshop aimed to assist States in strengthening the effectiveness of their criminal justice response to terrorism by integrating a gender perspective, and second, to ensure that women's rights are respected in the context of growing terrorism threats in the Lake Chad region. Read More

  • In February 2018, a workshop on the United Nations Convention against Convention (UNCAC) and the fight against corruption in Chad was organized in N'Djamena by UNODC, in partnership with the Ministry of Justice of Chad and with UNDP support. The workshop brought together anti-corruption experts as well as key actors in the fight against corruption in Chad, including representatives from the executive, legislative and judiciary, and from civil society groups. The workshop produced recommendations on the ratification and implementation of the UNCAC in Chad, who ultimately ratified the convention on 26 June 2018. Read More


  • From 25-27 April 2017 in N'Djamena, the UNODC Global Programme against Money-Laundering, the Proceeds of Crime and the Financing of Terrorism (GPML) organised, thanks to  the logistical support of the Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) of Chad, a national workshop for reporting entities on combating money laundering and the financing of terrorism (ML/FT). The workshop was designed to raise awareness among financial institutions and other designated non-financial businesses (DNFBPs) of the key elements of AML/CFT regime in Chad, in particular, reporting transactions they deem suspicious of being related to criminal or terrorist activity. The three-day workshop incorporated practical sessions on a number of relevant topics including introduction to money laundering and terrorism financing, basic steps of customer due diligence (CDD) measures, use of suspicious transactions form, national AML/CFT legal and institutional frameworks, search on the Consolidated United Nations Security Council Sanctions List, etc. Read More


  • On 25-26 March 2015, a technical workshop was held in N'Djamena, Chad, to validate the draft law on the fight against human trafficking in the country. Like other countries in Central Africa, human trafficking has become a concern for the Republic of Chad, considered an area of ​​origin, transit and destination for victims of this form of trafficking. These are subject to several forms of exploitation such as forced labor, sexual exploitation, organ trafficking and recruitment into armed groups. Read More

Fr/En

Tchad

35 activités mises en œuvre, 857 bénéficiaires

Informations sur le Tchad

Population (2017): 14.899.994

Croissance de la population (%annuel): 3,0

PIB (2017): 9,871,247,730

Croissance du PIB ( % par an): -3,0

Espérance de vie à la naissance : 53

Taux de natalité, total (naissance par femmes) : 5,9

(données de la Banque Mondiale 2017)

Le Tchad et le Programme Sahel

Depuis sa création, le Programme Sahel et ses partenaires ont mis en œuvre 35 activités au Burkina avec plus de 857 bénéficiaires dont 10,15 % de femmes.

A travers son partenariat avec le Programme Sahel de l'ONUDC, le Burkina Faso a accompli des résultats probants :

  • Le 26 juin 2018, le Tchad a ratifié la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption grâce à l'appui de l'ONUDC, qui facilite le mécanisme d'examen de la mise en œuvre de la Convention et aide les pays à renforcer leur cadre législatif et institutionnel conformément à la Convention. Suite à la demande d'assistance du gouvernement tchadien lors de la deuxième réunion du comité directeur du programme Sahel en 2017, l'ONUDC a organisé deux ateliers en partenariat avec le gouvernement tchadien, des responsables de la justice et divers acteurs nationaux. Ces actions de sensibilisation ont contribué à créer les conditions permettant la ratification de la Convention par le Tchad. une réussite facilitant ainsi le développement d'actions plus efficaces pour lutter contre la corruption dans le pays, ainsi que dans toute la région du Sahel. En janvier 2019, l'ONUDC a organisé un troisième atelier au Tchad afin d'examiner les moyens d'une mise en œuvre efffiscienete de la Convention. En savoir plus


  • Suite aux attaques terroristes qu'a connues le pays, le Tchad a institué une cellule de coordination contre le terrorisme, regroupant des agences d'application de la loi, et des magistrats, afin de faciliter le partage d'informations opérationnelles via l'utilisation d'une base de données sécurisée. La création de cette cellule fait suite à l'assistance technique fournie par l'ONUDC pour renforcer la coopération au sein du système de justice pénale du pays. En conséquence, l'ONUDC et les autorités tchadiennes ont développé un programme national de trois ans (2016-2018) pour renforcer les réponses pénales contre le terrorisme en accord avec les droits de l'homme et l’État de droit. Le programme se concentre, entre autres, sur l'enquête et la poursuite des affaires liées au terrorisme, conformément aux droits de l'homme, à la coopération judiciaire internationale et régionale, au renforcement des connaissances et des capacités pour le traitement des combattants terroristes étrangers et lutter contre l'extrémisme violent.

Les principales activités mises en œuvre au Niger par le biais du Programme pour le Sahel comprennent :

  • Le Programme mondial de lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent, le produit du crime et le financement du terrorisme (GPML) de l'ONUDC, a organisé, grâce aux financements du Luxembourg et du soutien logistique de la cellule Tchadienne des renseignements financiers, un atelier national pour les entités déclarantes sur la lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent et le financement du terrorisme (AML/FT).  L'atelier de trois jours comportait des exercices pratiques concernant de nombreux sujets pertinents tels que l'introduction au blanchiment d'argent et au financement du terrorisme, les premières mesures de vigilance à prendre au sujet de la clientèle (CDD), l'usage de formulaires de transactions suspectes, les cadres institutionnels et légaux de la lutte gouvernement contre le blanchiment d'argent et le financement du terrorisme, et l'usage de la liste consolidée de sanctions du Conseil de Sécurité des Nations Unies.  En savoir plus


  • Conformément à la Stratégie antiterroriste mondiale des Nations unies (UNGCTS), l'ONUDC et le Haut-Commissariat aux droits de l'homme (HCDH) ont organisé un atelier sous-régional sur l'intégration de la dimension du genre à la réponse de la justice pénale en matière de terrorisme. Cet atelier consistait à améliorer l'efficacité de la justice pénale dans les affaires liées au terrorisme, en soutenant les efforts des États pour intégrer la dimension du genre. et il visait d'autre part à assurer le respect des droits de la femme, dans un contexte de menaces terroristes croissantes au Bassin du Lac Tchad. En savoir plus

  • En février 2018, un atelier de réflexion sur la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption et la lutte contre la corruption au Tchad a été organisé à N'Djamena par l'ONUDC, en partenariat avec le Ministère de la Justice du Tchad et avec l'appui du PNUD. L'atelier a réuni les acteurs principaux en matière de lutte contre la corruption au Tchad, notamment des représentants du pouvoir exécutif, législatif et judiciaire, ainsi que de la société civile. L'atelier a produit des recommandations sur la ratification et la mise en œuvre de la CNUCC au Tchad, qui a finalement ratifié la convention le 26 juin 2018.  En savoir plus

  • Les 25 et 26 mars 2015, s'est tenu à N'Djamena, un atelier de validation technique de l'avant-projet de loi portant lutte contre la traite des personnes en République du Tchad. A l'instar des autres pays d'Afrique Centrale, la traite des personnes est devenue un sujet d'inquiétude pour la République du Tchad, considérée comme une zone d'origine, de transit et de destination pour les victimes de traite. Celles-ci sont sujettes à plusieurs formes d'exploitation telles que le travail forcé, l'exploitation sexuelle, le prélèvement d'organes et l'enrôlement dans des groupes armés. En savoir plus