Fr/En

Burkina Faso

81 activities implemented, 1930 beneficiaries reached 

About Burkina Faso  

Population (2017): 19,193,380

GDP (2017): 12,322,864,240

GDP growth (annual %): 6.3

Population growth (annual %): 2.9

Life expectancy at birth: 60

Fertility rate, total (births per woman): 5.4

(World Bank Data 2017)

Burkina Faso and the Sahel Programme

Since its inception, the Sahel Programme and its partners have implemented 81 activities in Burkina Faso reaching over 1930 beneficiaries, 8.86% of which were women

Through its partnership with UNODC's Sahel Programme, Burkina Faso has achieved notable results including:

  • The government of Burkina Faso adopted an updated counter-terrorism law in December 2015, following UNODC assistance. The new law features provisions to address the threat posed by foreign terrorist fighters (FTF), a rising concern for Sahel countries and the international community at large. Read More


  • In January 2017, Burkinabe legislators passed laws to create and institutionalize specialized judicial units (in French, "Pôle judiciaire spécialisé") to strengthen the fight against transnational organized crime, terrorism and its financing, following the provision of UNODC legal expertise and training. Read More


  • UNODC provided marking equipment related registration software for state owned civilian firearms to Burkina Faso and Mali, as well as training on their use. As a result, more than 13,500 firearms have been marked in both countries since 2015.


  • "UNODC assistance enabled the National Police to identify and locate a firearm from Burkina Faso's weapon stock within a terrorist group operating in the Sahelian zone of Mali," reported Adama Sankara, a Burkinabe police officer in early 2017.


Key activities implemented in Burkina Faso through the Sahel Programme include:

  • In line with the United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC), requiring that each State Party promotes integrity, honesty, and responsibility among public officials, UNODC has been assisting Burkina Faso in the promotion of integrity and in the development of anti-corruption strategies for the police, gendarmerie, and customs. Between February and May 2018, three national workshops were organized in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso with the police, the gendarmerie, and customs, respectively, in order to formalize strategies tailored towards each security force to promote integrity and fight corruption. Read More


  • UNODC organized an activity in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, from 16 April to 27 April 2018 for investigators from various departments of the police and gendarmerie. Participants were trained on various aspects of the intelligence cycle and its role during investigations. Judicial police officers (intended for Burkina Faso's specialized counter-terrorism service) had the opportunity to simulate surveilling and tailing suspects, practice drafting and presenting a briefing note on GSIM, an active terrorist organization in Burkina Faso, and they also observed a drug test on pills containing amphetamine sold locally in markets. Read More

Fr/En

Burkina Faso

81 activités mises en œuvre , 1930 bénéficiaires

Information sur le Burkina Faso 

Population (2017): 19.193.380

PIB (2017): 12.322.864.240

Croissance du PIB (% annuel): 6.3

Croissance de la population (% annuel): 2.9

Espérance de vie: 60

Taux de natalité, total (nombre de naissance par femme): 5.4

(données de la Banque Mondiale)

Le Programme Sahel au Burkina Faso

Depuis sa création, le Programme Sahel et ses partenaires ont mis en œuvre 81 activités au Burkina avec plus de 1930 bénéficiaires dont 8,86% de femmes.

A travers son partenariat avec le Programme Sahel de l'ONUDC, le Burkina Faso a accompli des résultats probants : 

  • Grâce à l'assistance technique de l'ONUDC, Le gouvernement du Burkina Faso a adopté une loi actualisée contre le terrorisme en décembre 2015. La nouvelle loi comporte des dispositions visant à lutter contre la menace posée par les combattants terroristes étrangers (CTE), une préoccupation croissante pour les pays du Sahel et la communauté internationale dans son ensemble.
  • En janvier 2017, les législateurs Burkinabé ont adopté une nouvelle loi créant et institutionnalisant un pôle judiciaire spécialisé pour renforcer la lutte contre le terrorisme et son financement. En savoir plus


Les principales activités mises en œuvre au Niger par le biais du Programme pour le Sahel comprennent :

  • Conformément à la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption (CNUCC), exigeant que chaque État partie promeuve l'intégrité, l'honnêteté et la responsabilité des agents publics, y compris la police, la gendarmerie et les douanes, l'ONUDC a aidé le Burkina Faso à promouvoir l'intégrité au sein de ses forces de sécurité et à développer des stratégies anti-corruption pour la police, la gendarmerie et les douanes. Entre février et mai 2018, trois ateliers nationaux ont été organisés à Ouagadougou, au Burkina Faso, pour la police, la gendarmerie et les douanes, afin de valider les stratégies conçues pour chaque force de sécurité pour promouvoir l'intégrité et lutter contre la corruption.  En savoir plus


  • Du 16 au 27 avril 20189, l'ONUDC a organisé une formation à Ouagadougou au Burkina Faso,  pour des éléments issus de différents services de la Police et de la Gendarmerie. Les participants ont été formés à divers aspects du cycle du renseignement et à son rôle au cours des enquêtes. Les officiers de police judiciaire (destinés au service spécialisé de lutte contre le terrorisme du Burkina Faso) ont eu l'occasion de simuler la surveillance et de suivre les suspects, de rédiger et de présenter une note d'information sur GSIM, une organisation terroriste active au Burkina Faso, et d'observer un test de dépistage de drogue. pilules contenant de l'amphétamine vendues localement sur les marchés.  En savoir plus